Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Excerpt
hiddentrue

Resources about the visits/sessions metric in web analytics, which measures the number of times a website was visited. A visit comprises one of more pages viewed; one user could be measured more than once.

Master wrapper
PageTypeTopic
Visits/Sessions in Web Analytics


Perspectives on Visits / Sessions in Web Analytics

Promoted link

List wrapper
List item
recommendedtrue
L;cooladata.com;What is Sessionization & Why Should You Care?;http://www.cooladata.com/blog/what-is-sessionization-and-why-should-you-care/;NA;NA;;;A session ID is created and stored every time a user visits your web page or mobile application.Each session has its own characteristics such as overall time, amount of events, country IP, etc. Events are triggered by user interactions on your website and are stored under each session ID. 
List item
L;study.com;What is a Session in Web Analytics? - Definition & Length;http://study.com/academy/lesson/what-is-a-session-in-web-analytics-definition-length.html;;;;
List item
L;flippa.com;5 Key Metrics to Always Track in Your Web Analytics;http://flippa.com/blog/5-key-metrics-to-always-track-in-your-web-analytics/;NA;;;It can be daunting to sit down and decipher your website’s data. It’s challenging to know which metrics are most important and to unravel the story they are telling. Numbers are meaningless withou
List item
L;matthewedgar.net;What Barriers Prevent Engagement and Conversion?;http://www.matthewedgar.net/barriers-prevent-engagement-conversion/;;;;
List item
L;webanalysis.blogspot.com;Hits, Page Views, Visitors and Visits Demystified;http://webanalysis.blogspot.com/2009/06/hits-page-views-visitors-and-visits.html;NA;;;This article is an introductory level and the intention of this article is to clarify few terms that you constantly hear in Web Analytics.  Why am I writing this article? I hear some confusion about
List item
L;atlanticwebworks.com;Page View vs Page Visits;http://atlanticwebworks.com/blog/page-view-versus-page-visits/;NA;;;Understanding the world of Google Analytics can be a bit confusing. Web Statistics can be a universe unto itself  but if we view it as the fabled elephant and take it one bite at a time  we can slowly
List item
L;timpeter.com;Web Analytics Glossary;http://www.timpeter.com/web-analytics-glossary/;NA;;;The following glossary identifies and defines common web analytics terms. However  as different web analysis tools often provide alternate definitions based on their context  please consult your analy
List item
L;scl.com;Measure and Report the Correct Metrics - Web Analytics;http://www.scl.com/insights/blog/web-analytics-measure-and-report-correctly/;NA;;;I was recently collecting some pre-paid tickets for a train journey and the machine display advised it was printing item 1 of 3  2 of 3 and eventually 3 of 3. The machine dispensed a receipt and seat
List item
L;backbonemedia.com;Web Analytics: “Visits” and Other Junk Metrics;http://www.backbonemedia.com/blog/web-analytics-visits-junk-metrics/;NA;;;Web Analytics: Visits and Other Junk Metrics Posted on June 17  2014 by Emily Saylor   in Tracking & Analytics   As an analyst responsible for reporting on client web analytics  one of the metrics

How To

List wrapper
List item
L;datapine.com;Top 5 Google Analytics KPIs: A Guide to Web Analytics;http://www.datapine.com/blog/top-5-google-analytics-kpis/;NA;;;Google Analytics has become the de-facto champion for free web analytics. Google Analytics can monitors dozens of KPIs (key performance indicators) for your business. Web analytics KPIs  which refer t
List item
L;clarku.edu;Web Analytics - Using eMetrics to Guide Marketing Strategies on the Web;http://www.clarku.edu/offices/its/webservices/pdf/web_analytics.pdf;;;;

Specific Environments

List wrapper
List item
L;krazytech.com;PHP Program to Display the Last Visited Date-Time;https://krazytech.com/programs/php-display-last-visited-date-time;;;;


Tools

List wrapper
List item
L;techsoup.org;A Few Good Web Analytics Tools;http://www.techsoup.org/support/articles-and-how-tos/few-good-web-analytics-tools;NA;;;Web analytics tools help you track your site's statistics  which let you see how many people are looking at each page  what sites they came from  and other information to help develop a picture of who

Anchor
further_reading
further_reading

Further Reading

Further reading

Children Display
pageWeb Analytics Metrics
excerptTypesimple

Cta item
resourceID001

Cta item
resourceID002

Cta item
resourceID003

Cta item
resourceID004